Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | April 3, 2007

Daylight Savings Time Hasn’t Saved…

I don’t know about the rest of America, but I have loved getting out of work to a still lit sky these past few weeks. Having that extra hour of light has made all the difference, though waking up in darkness has been a dramatic challenge that I have yet to master.

The whole reason we set our clocks forward three weeks early was not to confuse our international partners (though it’s happened on more than one occasion), but rather to save energy. The feedback from energy companies however, has not been what they expected though. In fact, most companies seem to be saying that this earlier time change has had very little, if any impact on energy savings. Well that’s a bummer, I wonder if they’re going to do away with it in coming years?

I for one, like my sunshine and would much rather be able to feel like I still have something left of the day when I get out of bed as opposed to coming home to the dead of night. Summer in New England is short enough.

Leave a Reply

Categories

