Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | April 5, 2007

Rats!!

Given, I’ve lived in Southwest Florida before where the cockroaches rival the size of your small pet poodle and the palmetto bugs will chase you (yes I have in fact experienced this) around and into a pool, but I have never seen a rat before. I don’t know how I’ve managed to allude this otherwise common city experience, but I’ve honestly never come across one. I kinda thought people were dramatizing rat problems and getting overly wimpy when they talked about spending an hour on their kitchen table to avoid these little home intruders.

I am a believer now! They’re real!

On my walk to the gym yesterday I was charged, literally blitzed, by a rat the size of a large guinea pig. I had to actually leap up and over it so that it didn’t run into my leg. True, it was 5:30 a.m. and everything moves fast in comparison to me at that hour, but this sucker must have broken into someone’s speed stash because it was on a mission and was flying down the sidewalk like some lit it’s butt on fire.

Officially freaked out and very awake after my run in, I continued to look over my shoulder the rest of the walk home half expecting it to chase me into traffic. I’m now still wary of taking the back way to the gym now. I mean if that guy ever gathers his buddies and tries that stunt again, I’m a goner.

Leave a Reply

Categories

