Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | April 11, 2007

My Lifetime Love Affair

 “What is a brownie?” That is the question New York Times writer Julia Moskin asked in her most recent article in today’s paper.

My answer to this question? A brownie is a piece of bliss; heaven on earth; chocolate perfection. I can pass on most sweets if I set my mind to it (and concentrate really, really hard), but there is something about this square chocolate confection that causes me to cave in every time. My family and I still joke about my famous experience with a Brownie Sunday at The Mucky Duck on Captiva Island in Florida when I was about four or five. My love affair with this one Brownie Sunday was remarkable and the entire restaurant turned around in awe to watch me devour each bite of the mountainous dessert by myself, a look of utter happiness on my face as I savoured every morsel and practically licked the bowl clean.

It’s been a love affair that has continued through the years and after reading this article on the “simple pleasure” that is the brownie, I can’t ignore my passion any longer. Tonight I’m baking brownies.

Responses

  1. Bring some in!

  2. You had me at “brownie”… Also check out http://cupcakeblog.com

  3. No arguments with brownies here. Should you ever be in a truly bad brownie fix, as I found out one Sunday night at 9:00, Pillsbury makes this:

    http://www.pillsbury.com/view/desserts/rtb_brownies.aspx

    Oh, they’re not fantastic or anything, but that late, lazy Sunday night, they’ll do in a pinch…


Leave a Reply

Categories

