Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 26, 2007

Just let go, it’s summer after all!

I, like many people, am in a profession that requires me to be almost constantly attached to a computer or phone. In fact, I spend so much time “connected” that when I get home at night, the last thing I want to do is hop on a computer or have a phone conversation longer than 2 minutes.

When vacation time roles around though, I usually try to make a point of leaving my work behind me. A couple weeks ago, however,  I realized just how hard that is when your very job is defined by deadlines, which is why this InformationWeek article caught my eye. According to a couple of surveys, over a quarter of vacationers plan to stay in touch with their office and 1 in 5 will check their email regularly. Yikes! I am one of those people now.

The stat that made me especially queezy though? That an AP poll found 41% of people saying they weren’t even planning to go on vacation in the next year. Now I admit, I might need to keep watch over my emails and calls on vacation, but I hope I never reach the point of not taking one at all.

For Shame!!!!

Responses

  1. So scary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

