Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | July 3, 2007

Make your 4th Pop!

 

Tomorrow is the big day. The 4th of July, also still rumored to be called Independence Day (though most of us really only associate it with fireworks and BBQs anymore). Today New Englanders are cramming their families into the cars and driving to The Cape, Maine or The Hamptons; basically anywhere near a body of water and a liquor store. Tomorrow however, people will be looking for the best spot to plop down with their hot dogs, beer and red, white and blue striped hats to watch fireworks (weather permitting).

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll also probably have your TVs tuned in to watch the Boston Pops 4th of July celebration. (I’ve lived in other parts of the country and I know they broadcast this nationally by the way, so there’s no excuse for missing it)

I’ll hopefully be tagging along with friends to find our firework fanatic co-worker planted at a prime spot along the Esplanade, to see my first ever up-close Boston Pops show. I’ve watched this since I was a kid, and last year saw my first Boston firework from my living room window! It was quite exciting, especially since I had my TV tuned into the Pops’ performance so that each colorful explosion was timed with the brilliant performance from the orchestra (and in my pjs no less).

This year, I’ll be brave though and if Mother Nature works in our favour I’ll also witness possibly the best 4th of July Celebration in the country. And yes I’m biased, but I still think it’s true. Happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

Categories

