Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | October 2, 2009

BREAKING NEWS: I’m Going to Jail

MDA Lockup

BREAKING NEWS: I’m going to jail. And my bail is set at $2500. Luckily they’re giving me a month to come up with the funds and YOU can help.

Okay, so I’m not really going to jail, but I am getting locked up! You may have heard of the concept before, but it was new to me so let me explain. Nonprofit organizations will organize these professional “lockups” where business owners or business representatives are enrolled into a fundraising event with the lockup date as the deadline for your fundraising goal.

I was contacted a couple weeks ago to participate in Muscular Dystrophy Association’s Lock-Up where the fundraising goal is $2500 by my incarceration date on October 28th. So I’m charged with the task of raising money in the next month to “make bail” all to benefit local health care programs to fight against muscular dystrophy. It’s an amazing way to charge a group of agents to raise awareness and money through their existing community relationships.

Here is where you can help- or help me help MDA. Visit my MDA Lock-Up website (which the organization kindly provides all those who agree to participate) and do a few things:

  • First – laugh at the video which shows me as one of the MDA’s Most Wanted
  • Second – donate. I’m not asking for your next paycheck, but perhaps a sacrificed Starbucks? (That’s a solid $3-$5!)
  • Third – share the site with colleagues, friends, and family. The beauty of this type of fundraiser is that it can be viral.
  • I’ll keep you posted on my progress, but feel free to let me know whether you’ve donated, shared, or joined the cause. I’ll be tweeting and posting updates across my social media platforms. Let’s see what social media can do for this cause! If I make bail, I promise I’ll post some pictures of me being taken away by the cops – something you probably won’t see otherwise.

    Thank you for your help!

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

