Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | October 12, 2009

Communication Shifts – Away from email?

RIP Email

I love how media has evolved to inspire more community discussion (WSJ is an example of this). It is one of the ways that traditional media has fought to survive as their industry has been turned upside down and inside out in the face of social media.  Knowing how things have changed in the recent years, it should come as no surprise that communication itself is shifting… again.

Many will remember the days when email was rumored to mean  pending doom for traditional mail. Yet we still have a purpose for traditional mail, and I for one look forward to those few more meaningful pieces of real mail I get each week (don’t mock me, I’ve moved so many times most people can’t keep track of my address). Now email is being challenged by social media platforms.

In a discussion-provoking article in today’s WSJ, Jessica Vascellaro wrote “The End of the Email Era” which basically predicts that email’s “reign” as communication king is coming to and end. It’s not the end-all  for email, but a change that will require a new way of communicating. And just like anything new, there will be a learning curve involved and new technology to be adopted.

I could go into a lot more detail here, but I’ll let the WSJ discussion pick it up from here. Read the article and check out my comment!

Responses

  1. good post…I agree


Leave a Reply

Categories

