Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | July 9, 2010

What Lines? Harry Potter is worth it!

Without a doubt, I am a Harry Potter fanatic. No shame, I’ll admit that I’ve read all the books multiple times and waited at the Boston Common movie theater for the midnight showing of the last movie.  I’ve been spellbound by the world of magic and muggles since I was 14 or so and can’t honestly believe that the dream of being a part of Harry’s world could even be possible. Yet with the opening of Universal Studio’s latest theme park, The Wizard World of Harry Potter, the dreams have become reality!

I was one of the many who tuned into the Today Show on June 18th to watch Al Roker and Ann Curry explore the wizarding world on opening day.  I’m glad I wasn’t one of the thousands that waited eight hours in line to get into the park, but I’m even happier that so many other people did and reported on their experiences. Patricia Borns wrote a detailed account of her exploration with her niece, who grew up reading the books as well, for The Boston Globe titled “Spellbound,” and I admit that I was exactly that as I read about the castle, butterbeer, Hogsmeade, Olivander’s, cauldron cakes, all the rides…

Even without being there, I get excited by just the thought of all these now tangible experiences. I can’t wait to see it and am already planning to make the trip up to Orlando the first chance I can pull a group of fellow Harry Potter freaks together. It’s a pricey trip though, whether you live in Florida already or not – park tickets start at $109 for adults and $99 for kids (funny only $10 separates the two). Not to mention what you’ll want to spend once inside at all the shops. I already have my list of items to purchase together and I really have to start saving up:

  • Wand from Olivander’s Wand Shop
  • Butterbeer
  • Pumpkin Juice
  • Fish n’ Chips from The Three Broomsticks
  • Cauldron Cake and goodies at Honeydukes Sweet Shop
  • Souvenir from Zonko’s Joke Shop

And those are only the things I’ve read about!

What do you most want to see, taste, or try? If you’ve already been, I’d love to hear your thoughts as I make my plans…

Responses

  1. […] (Woo hoo!!). It could be because I’m going to be going to Universal Studios and the magical Harry Potter theme park (my second time since the ride opened). Or, it might be because I’m going to submit Nick to a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

