Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | October 22, 2010

A Fall Excursion to Massachusetts!

Hiking in central Mass

I’m completely guilty of being almost two weeks late in posting about my latest trip to Massachusetts, but better late than never, right?

I’m a New Englander through and through, minus my strong distaste for the freakishly long winters, so it is no surprise that I needed to get my Fall-fix. Fall is my favorite season for activities in New England. Travel up Rt 5 through New Hampshire and Vermont to see some of the most charming town centers and admire the stunning foliage. Or perhaps you just want to get out of doors with a hike and some apple-picking. Anything really is possible at this time of year.

I only had about three and a half days to squeeze everything in, but I  covered some ground. Hiking in central Mass with my friend and my “nephew” Lucas (her dog) was amazing and we laughed through even the most painful parts (and falls) during our walk through the woods. I cozied up next to an outdoor fire one night with friends and family to discuss a movie I’d just seen (The Social Network – it was fantastic).


Apple picking at Sholan Farms in Leominster, MA.

To round out my trip I had to go apple-picking and track down some fresh apple cider donuts. My favorite orchard is in the hills of Leominster, MA – Sholan Farms – where you have spectacular views of the sprawling town that is still famous for being the home of Johnny Appleseed! The apple-cider donuts were a bit harder to track down because I’m very picky, I like the fresh ones, still hot so they melt in your mouth. I found some fresh, though not piping hot, at Honey Pot Hill Orchards in Stow, MA, which turned out to be mobbed with people like you’d expect to see at like, Disney World.

Posing at the top of an orchard hill quickly as a bee wanted my cider donuts almost as much as I did!

Finally I visited my favorite brunch spot in central Mass, The Old Mill in Westminster. Accessible only by covered bridges and surrounded by ponds and waterfalls, it’s a very popular among locals and tourists alike. Their pecan rolls and corn fritters with maples syrup are legendary.

As I boarded my plane back to Florida I had to admit that I was lucky to have caught the best Fall experience on my short trip home.

Did you get to all the Fall activities on your list this year? What favorites did I miss?

Responses

  1. […] hoping that we’ll get to do some of the fun things I did last fall and maybe throw in some of my other favorite things to do when I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

