Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | May 2, 2011

Celebrate May and New Beginnings

Happy May Day, a day late! I meant to write yesterday, but instead opted for an afternoon with my dad who’s visiting me here in sunny Southwest Florida this week.

Did you know that May Day used to be a widely celebrated holiday? It used to be a celebration of the end of the winter half of the year (when you can’t do much with your farms and gardens in the Northern Hemisphere). Apparently May Day used to be host to some pretty crazy parties too. Go figure!

20110502-104059.jpg

Well in honor of the start of May, the end of the Flu-from-Hades that is just now letting up after almost three weeks of debilitating coughing fits, and my knee finally getting back it’s range of motion (I tore up some cartilage a few weeks ago), I’m fully embracing the spirit of May Day and welcoming a new start! To kick off new beginnings, I changed my morning routine up and made a delicious Green Monster smoothie (pictured above) for breakfast this morning. It doesn’t look that appealing unless chunky green drinks are your thing, but I promise it’s packed with delicious and nutritious stuff. Here is what went into the blender this morning:

  • Large handful of raw spinach (you can steam it as well)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 packet of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 tbsp coconut milk

Check out Oh She Glows’ own Green Monster Movement page for more awesome twists on this smoothie.

I’m looking forward to getting back to the gym tomorrow morning after my three week absence and though I won’t be jumping right back into the spinning classes right off the bat, I can’t wait to start building my endurance back up with some time on the elliptical and treadmill machines. Tackling those weights is also high on my priority list, though I’ve luckily been able to do some yoga at home to maintain muscle tone.

I’m entertaining my dad while he’s in town this week and no doubt will be cooking some new and favorite recipes, so stay tuned for those.

In the meantime, will you recognize May Day and celebrate a new start to your year? What habits, hobbies, or goals do you feel you’d like to kick-off?

Responses

  1. Woah, glad you’re getting better! I didn’t even realize it was May Day until I walked through Harvard Square and wondered why the heck there were festivities. There is a sense of new starts though- I’ve been trying to run more, and also eat healthier. That smoothie sounds fantastic!

  2. […] months of training in front of me and a knee re-injury in my not-so-distant past, I realized that it was time to take care… of my feet. Though not […]

  3. […] things like whole grain cereals, fresh fruit, lean proteins, crisp vegetables, and those delicious green monster smoothies are not just “healthy foods” but they’re actually what I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

