Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | May 13, 2011

Look Ma, I made Thai!

20110512-035702.jpgMy love of food has carried me through some interesting, difficult and fabulous experiences. One of the most rewarding, but challenging was my eight months as a vegan (meaning goodbye pizza, doughy breads, omelets and every kind of meat-based sandwich I loved). I’m sure I’ll talk more about how that impacted my life in many ways, but one thing it did was amplify my love of peanut butter. PB wasn’t just a snack, it was a food group. So of course, I was absolutely crazy about Thai food as it had many vegan dishes, one of which incorporated the PB flavor and I would practically lick off a plate – Peanut sauce.

I know there are also a lot of African dishes made with PB sauces, but the first time I ever had it was at a Thai restaurant so that’s what I’m sticking with.

So for those of you who have tried peanut sauce, you probably know the delicious wonder that is this creamy bit of yumminess. It goes with… everything – veggies, fish, pasta, a spoon…

So when I saw We Are Not Martha‘s blog post on Peanut Sauce and saw how easy it was to make I had to rush home and make it. And when I say it was easy, it was EASY. Throw-a-few-ingredients-in-a-saucepan-and-stir-while-it-heats-and-thickens easy.

(courtesy of We Are Not Martha)

Peanut Sauce

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (you can sub almond butter if you prefer)
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 large clove minced garlic
  • sprinkle of red chili flakes (a little goes a long way, but then I can’t do spicy spicy)
  • *fresh ginger (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and heat on low-medium heat until sauce thickens. It may come to a low boil, but you have to keep stirring so it doesn’t stick to the pan and burn.

Once I had the sauce I tested it by dipping some fresh snap peas in it. Yummmm. Inspired my lunch creation of –

20110512-035754.jpg

Rice Noodles and Veggies with Peanut Sauce:

  • Peanut sauce (however much you like (I put about half of the total amount the above recipe made)
  • 1-1.5 cup of raw vegetables (cherry tomatoes, yellow and red peppers, and snap peas)
  • 1 serving of cooked soba/buckwheat or rice noodles (mine came packaged in serving clusters)

Layer it! Put the noodles in a dish or bowl and add the raw vegetables on it, pouring the peanut sauce on as the final touch. You can leave it or mix it all together.

I made mine for lunch the next day so I reheated it all in the microwave for a minute, which cooked the veggies slightly. You could steam the vegetables if you don’t like some crunch, but peanut sauce and crunch go so well together.

I may have found a new staple meal! And to think I always thought this somewhat exotic dish was too hard to make!

What favorite foods have you made that turned out to be much easier than you thought?

Responses

  1. Wow that looks really good! Geez between this and the overnight oats I’m not sure what to make first.


Leave a Reply

Categories

