Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | May 20, 2011

No cavities? Celebrate with Chocolate Chip “Cookie Dough”

Simple Fact: I am terrified of dental work.

It probably has to do with all the sealants, spacers, braces, retainers and horrible wisdom-teeth-extraction I’ve experienced in my younger days, but the fact is still true – I get stressed out by the mere mention of dentists.

So when I finally found a highly recommended dentist in good ‘ol Naples, FL (thank you wonderful co-worker), I booked my first cleaning in 2 years (*insert gasp here). I was religious with my dental hygiene for the weeks leading up to my appointment thinking that if I missed not one, two, but THREE cleanings when I never before missed even one 6-month cleaning previously, I would most likely be in big trouble.

After all that stress, however, I walked into an almost spa-like reception room (complete with wall water fountain feature and dim lighting) at Suncoast Dental, met my dentist (who used words like “awesome” and “wow” several times in our first meeting) and got the power-wash teeth cleaning by a friendly hygienist named Pam. I left not only with a clean bill of dental health, but a load of dental goodies including a tongue scraper (ew), toothbrush and flossing tool!

20110519-085112.jpg

So how does one celebrate a successfully uneventful dental check-up and cleaning? By making Chocolate Chip “Cookie Dough” Balls!

I had flagged the Oh She Glows recipe to try a few weeks back and tried them for the first time last week and ohhhhh, they are good. I made some slight modifications to account for the ingredients and flavors I like and had on hand, but I assure you that they were a wonderful treat.

20110519-085254.jpg

Don’t feel intimidated, they’re super easy.

Chocolate Chip “Cookie Dough” Balls:

1/2 cup walnuts (or you can use raw almonds, I’ve found)

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup whole wheat flour (I used slightly less that a full 1/4 cup)

2 tbsp ground flax seed

1 tsp organic sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (* optional – I added a couple drops of almond extract in too)

3 tbsp real maple syrup

1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips (bittersweet or dark chocolate)

WHAT YOU DO: Combine the walnuts (or almonds) and the rolled oats in the food processor and then pulse until they’re both finely chopped. Next, add the flour, flax seed and sugar and pulse again until they’re all combined. Pour the extract and maples syrup in the top and process until combined. Finally add in the chocolate chips and fold in with a spoon or spatula.

20110519-085423.jpg

Take a teaspoon to grab small amounts of the dough, making sure the chocolate chips get in there) and squeeze and roll them into small balls. It will be sticky so keep a damp cloth on hand to wipe your hands off. Once they’re all done, put them in a plastic freezer bag and pop them in the freezer. I usually get a couple breakfast bowls of cereal out of one round of this recipe.

20110519-085505.jpg

The fact that I got to have this for breakfast this morning as a cereal with almond milk and sliced bananas is just perfect. I made some people jealous – “Healthy chocolate chip cookie dough? For breakfast????”

20110519-085556.jpg

This seemed a very appropriate reward for sucking up my fears and ending up with a good check-up yesterday. How do you celebrate your accomplishments?


Leave a Reply

Categories

