Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 1, 2011

Weird Weeks Call for Strawberry Almond Scones

20110601-114040.jpg

Last week was one of those weeks when I felt like my head was literally scattered in a hundred directions. Needless to say it made me ineffective at pretty much everything I did. I chalk it up to lots of meetings, traveling for work (always tends to through your productivity off) and my poor little fuzzball (my c at, Elektra) having to have surgery on her teeth. Everyone together, “Awwwwweee…”

20110601-113830.jpg

Fuzzy (who was totally drugged up, post-surgery, for the above picture) is now in recovery (think positive thoughts for us!), my week at work is looking busy, but all in all I think the long weekend was just the thing I needed to recharge and refocus. I even planned out my four-month training schedule for my triathlon! (Further details in upcoming post)

You may think me a total nerd, but I had a great time this weekend doing NOTHING. Well, Saturday I did nothing, except some paperwork and a sad attempt at some laundry (which lived in the washer for almost a full day). Sunday and Monday though, I did some of things I haven’t had time for in MONTHS! I went to Sunday spinning, built my training schedule, started my certification studying, did a good Whole Foods shopping trip and spent the afternoon cooking. Monday was all about cleaning, working out (I swam for the first time in a year!) and laundry (yes, I finally finished all five loads).

Getting back on track after such a weird week last week inspired me to treat myself a bit as well, which is why I made some yummy Strawberry Almond Scones. I took the delicious recipe by Giada and modified it a bit for my own tastes – removing some of the sugar, adding some different flavors, etc – and I was thrilled with the results. So thrilled in fact, that there are only a couple left.

So if you want to indulge with some breakfast/afternoon snack/dessert treats then try this recipe! It only takes about 10-15 minutes to put together and get in the oven, so you could do this first thing in the morning and have your whole house smelling divine.

Strawberry Almond Scones:

(modified from the original by Giada De Laurentiis)

Ingredients:

1 cup All Purpose Flour

1 cup Whole Wheat Flour (using two cups of whole wheat flours makes them harder and less tender)

1/2 cup Organic Sugar

2 tsps Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Salt

6 tbsps Organic Butter

1 cup Organic Heavy Cream

1/3 cup (approx) Bonne Maman Strawberry Preserves or your choice of jam

Glaze:

1/4 cup Lemon Juice from One Large Lemon

1 cup Powdered Sugar

1-2 tbsps Water

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. In the bowl of the food processor pulse together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter until it looks like it’s a course meal. Dump the mixture into a medium sized mixing bowl and add the heavy cream a bit at a time, mixing it until it forms dough.

20110601-113931.jpg

Next place the ball of dough on a floured surface and role it out into a 1/2-inch thick circle. Grab a glass or cookie cutter, dip in flour and then cut out shapes in the dough and place on an greased or parchment-lined cookie sheet. Ball together the scraps and roll out again to cut remaining few circles.

20110601-113957.jpg

Take a measuring teaspoon and dip the back in flour and then press into the middle of each circle to form a pit. Then take the same teaspoon and place one spoonful of the strawberry preserves in the indentation of each scone. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool.

20110601-114019.jpg

To make the glaze, combine the powdered sugar, lemon juice and one tablespoon of water in a bowl. Add the remaining tablespoon of water if needed. Let it sit for about 5-minutes. Drizzle over the cooled scones and then serve. Makes 10-12 scones.

I’m going to go eat the last couple scones with some tea now… Yum.

How did you spend your Memorial Day weekend?

20110601-113912.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

