Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 8, 2011

Unraveling the Healthy Eating Mystery Part 1

20110608-011225.jpg

Whenever I hear the word “buffet” I get slightly nervous. Being a vegetarian, usually the only things I’m able to find to eat are fried foods, overcooked vegetables or cold salad, so unless I want to eat a lot of super fattening foods, I’m just plain out of luck. So when a group of colleagues offered up a Chinese buffet for a going away luncheon, I was not overly excited. I had visions of sauced drowned, noodles and fried… everything. I mean how do you say no to all the good stuff?

The Chinese buffet was pretty much what I expected, complete with row after row of every kind of food you could imagine – Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and some classic American (pizza, chicken nuggets and ice-cream).

The real surprise came in making my selections. My greatest fear is that I would be drawn to the most fattening and sinful foods. When I started perusing the options, I was pulled to the steamed broccoli, sushi and only one “naughty” food (I love crab rangoons, what can I say). So how was I able to bypass all the other tasty bites?

20110608-011245.jpg

I think it comes down to something like listening to my body. Since paying more attention to what my body needs, especially in the last month or so, I’ve realized the foods that make me feel good are not the cheese-covered, sauce-drenched, processed foods, but the clean, fresh foods. So things like whole grain cereals, fresh fruit, lean proteins, crisp vegetables, and those delicious green monster smoothies are not just “healthy foods” but they’re actually what I enjoy.

Could it be? Is that really what it all come down to? Is the mystery possibly just an application of listening to your own body’s needs and some common sense?

I’ll be the first to admit, that you have to indulge in the not-so-healthy foods from time to time, but you can also make some of those things like cupcakes, pizza and such, a bit healthier too by adding more nutritious ingredients. For the majority of the time, however, stop to listen to what your body needs! You’ll be surprised by how often it will lead you to make healthier choices.

Next up, exploring how you can get to the point where choosing healthy foods comes naturally.

What are some of your favorite healthy foods?

Leave a Reply

Categories

