Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 14, 2011

Battling Colds – It’s on!

How do you know when you’re officially sick? I don’t mean when you’re about to get sick where you have a random stuffy nose or the off-handed sneeze, I mean full-blown, no-going-back, I’ve-got-a-stupid-cold sick.

For me, it’s a couple of things. First off, the glands (lymph nodes that are responsible for waging war on the bad things in your body) on the left side of my neck get sore and swollen (not visible to anyone, but I can feel them). Secondly, I have the desire to nap all the time, whereas normally I’m never able to nap unless I’m sitting by a crackling fire or out laying in the sun. This past weekend I experienced both of these things, not to mention a super stuffy nose, constant sneezing and “fuzzy head” (this is a technical term I’ve identified that follows head congestion).

With a fun mini-break in Orlando just days away and being in the midst of training for my first sprint triathlon, getting a sickness of any kind is not good. So my goal for this week is to do EVERYTHING in my power to kick this cold’s butt. Come Friday, I want to feel back to my usual self.

20110613-072142.jpg

My battle plan:

  • Stay clear of the super sugary things like candy (no chocolate bars this week) and most regular baked goods, which tend to weaken my immune system.
  • Lots of tea as it calms my throat and clears the nose, not to mention tastes nice. I’ll opt for the green and mint tea then hit up my licorice and chamomile for the serious days.
  • Keep up with my probiotics and yinchiao, and also add in a good amount of other immune boosting nutrients like Vitamin C and E. My smoothies will be extra important this week.
  • Getting enough rest this week means early to bed. I’m setting a 9 o’clock curfew for myself to be in bed and relaxing, TV off.
  • Don’t push it at the gym, even though it breaks my heart a little. I tend to go all out when I work out, so I’ll need to reign it in a bit for the next five days. Just one workout a day, and nothing to high intensity.

20110613-072118.jpg

Immune Boosting Green Monster Smoothie:

  • 1 Small Frozen Banana
  • 1/2 Cup Frozen Mango
  • 1 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp Flax Seed
  • 1 Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1 Scoop Wheat Grass Powder
  • 1 1/4 Cup Coconut Milk
  • Handful of Baby Spinach Leaves

I’ll probably be looking up soup recipes later tonight as well, as the ultimate get-better food. We’ll see how long I last.

Do you have any tips for kicking a cold?

 

 

Responses

  1. Awesome suggestions! Here’s some more:
    http://healthymamainfo.com/2011/02/11/natural-cold-remedies/

  2. No!! I hope you feel better soon. I’ll be thinking of you!!!

  3. Thanks for the tips and well wishes! I’ll definitely be trying some of those natural cold remedies in the future!


Leave a Reply

Categories

