Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | July 14, 2011

Mission Raw Dessert… A Vacation Success!

20110713-085658.jpg

My trip to the homeland in Massachusetts last week was such a simple, low-stress and fun-filled experience, I swear if I could figure out how to do it every time I went home, I would. There are many things I love about New England, but one of the things I almost forgot was the fresh fruits, vegetables and local seafood. I pretty much covered all the bases of fresh food this trip, but one of my newest finds (which I was only slightly skeptical about at first) was raw “cooking.”

My mom gave me a mission though for our Fourth of July Family Fest and was even so kind as to offer up a recipe she’d found… somewhere. My mission, if I dared accept it, was to make a vegan, raw pie to satisfy both the sweet lovers and health nuts in our family. Ohhhhhhhh, is that all?

Make a pie out of just raw ingredients. Go ahead, I dare you.

20110713-085827.jpg

20110713-085849.jpg

No sugar added, and what the heck, no dairy. After all you can’t cook it, so you’re going au natural!

20110713-085806.jpg

Now, this can’t look like pureed poo, so make sure it’s a pretty color and smells nice and fresh.

20110713-085908.jpg

Mission NOT impossible!

20110713-085923.jpg

Raw Blue-nana Pie

Adapted from Unknown Source (aka, Mom found it somewhere)

Crust Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted and soaked
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup almonds

Filling Ingredients

  • 2-3 medium bananas
  • 1 lb blueberries
  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted (can soak these as well if you want)

Directions: In the food processor, combine the crust ingredients and process until ingredients combine and form a consistent coarse meal. Press into a glass/ceramic pie plate. Slice the bananas into 1/4″ rounds (leave at least a half or two-thirds of a banana for the filling) and cover the bottom of the pie crust with a layer of the slices.

In the food processor blend one cup of blueberries with the remainder of the banana and the 1/2 cup of dates until smooth. Then with a spoon, gently stir in the rest of the whole blueberries. Pour this over the sliced bananas in the pie dish and top with walnuts or sliced almonds. Chill for at least two hours. Serve immediately.

Best if eaten within three days.

This recipe has inspired a new appreciation and interest in raw cooking. Not only was this the favorite dessert at my holiday family get together, but it satisfied those who don’t usually come within ten feet of fruit. Hooray!

Plus, from a nutritional standpoint, this baby was packed with protein, vitamins, antioxidants and important fatty acids. The natural sugars in the dates and bananas provided all the sweetness your sugar-loving taste buds could want, while the nuts and blueberries offered great texture and bit of fresh tartness that balanced everything perfectly. I was shocked by the end result, but I’m so looking forward to trying more raw recipes in the future.

Oh, and did I mention that this is also completely gluten-free? Yes dear cousin, you can eat it!

Have you ever gone raw? Have you made any great raw recipes before?

Responses

  1. Making a pie out of just raw ingredients is brilliant and healthy! I can’t wait to try this at home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

