Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | July 27, 2011

Here’s to Double Rainbows and Resolutions!

20110727-064140.jpg

My day started off with a double rainbow siting on my way to work. Now, I’m one of those people who still get excited about seeing rainbows, even despite knowing the scientific explanation of the sun reflecting off of water molecules in the sky. To me, they’re still magic. One of nature’s incredible works of art that are elusive and unpredictable. That is why I whipped out my camera phone to snap a picture of this baby as quickly as I could. Then I got a picture of my reaction at the next stoplight, because I was still in awe over the double rainbow.20110727-064221.jpg

By the time I reached the next stoplight and looked back to see if the rainbow was still bright, it was gone.

Nevertheless it was still a great way to start off my day! I had already planned to write about how great it is to find new ideas in unexpected places today, so I think my double rainbow was an auspicious sign.

Honestly though, don’t you love it when find new ideas in unexpected places? It’s like sticking your hand in the pocket of a pair of jeans you haven’t worn in a while and finding a balled up wad of cash (anything more than a dollar is thrilling in my opinion). It’s like spotting a double rainbow on your way to work even…

Anyways, rainbows aside, my recent read did stir some new ideas. Better yet, it made me evaluate my own life and happiness. I’m a pretty happy person in general. Many things make me happy. Yet I do get bogged down sometimes and in the midst of a really busy schedule at work, or a hectic social calendar now and then, I recognize that I’m not necessarily happy.

So to begin, I decided I’m going to focus on making more time for the things that I already do that make me happy.

RESOLUTION #1 – Chronicle Life Better

So my first resolution is to chronicle my thoughts and experiences better – both in picture taking and writing. For me “chronicling” on both sides relates to my blog. So instead of taking up scrap booking, I want to put more effort into my blogging. A blog for me is an outlet for ideas as well as a way to look back on some of the things I’ve done. It makes me so happy when I see a new comment, knowing that someone actually read what I wrote and joined in the conversation. So I want to do MORE. In The Happiness Project, Gretchen mentioned that she found it was easier to do something like her blog once every day, and then it became part of her routine. It wasn’t a task anymore, but something that was an enjoyable part of her day.

My resolution is to try to blog every day. I’m going to see if I can make it a part of my regular routine versus a task I’m always behind on. It’s not just blogging either. I need to take better pictures and more pictures to add illustrations to my “chronicling.”

The tracking will be evident for my readers as much as for me. If you see more posts, with better pictures, then I’m on track. So let’s see shall we?

You can join me on this adventure! Stop for a moment and think, with a new week just several days away, it’s the perfect time to make a resolution. You don’t have to think big. Think about something you already do and that you’d like to do more.

So what’s something that makes you happy that you’d like to spend more time doing? (G to PG-13 rated comments only here folks)

Leave a Reply

Categories

