Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | August 2, 2011

Weekend Reflections – What makes a great weekend?

Here it is, already Tuesday and I am still thinking about my weekend.

In all honestly, I had forgotten just how wonderful weekends were. Not just a time to sleep in (which I don’t actually enjoy as much as getting up and enjoying time when I don’t have to work), but a chance to indulge in all the things you don’t get to do during the week.

I look at my schedule for the week and see workouts, meetings, tasks and obligations. I try to squeeze in some fun stuff like my workouts, but typically I get home from work, cook dinner, prepare my lunch for the next day, eat and get ready for bed. That’s all I have time for.

It’s easy to see how we get bogged down by our To-Do lists all week, but the weekends… well that is YOU time. My work schedule sometimes includes working on weekends, especially in “season” down here in Florida, so the summers are a time for me to enjoy my weekends.

So what do I do with my weekends? Well on weekends like this past one, I do WHATEVER I WANT.

20110802-115002.jpg

Of course I prepared for my week with some cleaning and a productive trip to Whole Foods (you can find anything there, even small pink pineapples).

20110802-115105.jpg

Hit the gym for a run and some favorite ab moves.

20110802-115134.jpg

I enjoyed some time in the sun. (Though I actually hit the beach, while my cat did her usual thing of lounging in the warm patches of sunshine in my bedroom.)

20110802-114953.jpg

I made some homemade pizzas and laughed as Nick got especially enthusiastic in the dinner making process and overloaded his pizza with toppings, all with a wild gleam in his eye.

20110802-114943.jpg

I experimented with some new recipes (which you’ll no doubt see posted soon).

I consider all of that the making of a great weekend. Yes, I may be simple, but just having a weekend is a great thing all by itself. And let’s be honest, a great weekend gets you through the rest of the week.

What do you enjoy doing most on the weekends?

Leave a Reply

Categories

