Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | August 9, 2011

Better Late Than Never: Summer Reading Kicks Off

I did something this past Sunday that you may call me a “nerd” for, but honestly I don’t care.

I was as excited to make this trip as I would be for a trip to the beach (and I love me some beach time, when it’s not 90 degrees in the water like it is down here right now).

I know that some people my age, especially in my current neighborhood, aren’t accustomed to visiting this hallowed ground, but hey, I’m different.

So where did I go?

The library. Oh yes, the public library.

Being from the northeast, my visual expectations of what a library should look like is more of a large multistory brick building with lots of windows and maybe a large sculpture of some historic founder in the lobby, so this is a bit different…

20110809-091753.jpg

The very Florida/Spaniard design, complete with a courtyard entrance, surprised me when I first visited, but I have grown to love the little reading nooks in the landscaped courtyard that you can curl up in, listening to the gentle background sound of the water fountain.

20110809-091741.jpg

20110809-091728.jpg

The inside is nothing out of the ordinary, but there’s something about all the books… the shelves and stacks of books everywhere you look, the quiet hum of the electric lights overhead and soft sound of pages being turned from every corner… it just makes me feel warm and fuzzy all over.

I used to be an avid Barnes & Noble supporter (even worked at one when I was in college – LOVED it) and still am, however, increasing strains on my already tight budget has derailed my goal of accumulating as many bound books as I can get my hands on and devour.

Plus, I don’t actually have anywhere to put the books I currently have! They’re nestled along the bottom of one entire wall of my living room right now…

20110809-091706.jpg

So for now I’m a “borrower” vs. a “buyer,” but that doesn’t mean I enjoy it any less. I scoured the shelves for almost an hour before finally choosing just two books (it was tough).

20110809-091648.jpg

Both are self-proclaimed “beach reads” which means you’ll lose yourself in them for hours and fly through the chapters in no time. I read Nancy Thayer’s Summer House with my book club earlier this year, but I have to say I’m more excited about reading Moon Shell Beach. As for Wendy Wax’s Magnolia Wednesday, I am intrigued that it starts off with the main character getting shot in the butt. That’s got to make it good right?

I’m confident that I’ll have finished both books by this time next week and I can’t wait to get started on more. I need to make a list of all the books I want to get to before winter.

What books are you reading now? What would you recommend?

Responses

  1. I loved Moon Shell Beach – it was def a good beach read…despite the fact I read it in December 😉

  2. […] I’ll even make it over to my favorite Naples building too – the library – as my last round of borrowed books is due this week and needs to be […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

