Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | September 12, 2011

Remembering My Fuzzy Brother

20110912-083537.jpg

There are some people who may not understand this.

Those people, however, most likely never had a fuzzy nuzzle wake them up in the morning and wake up to see a furry face just inches from theirs saying “Good morning!”

They have probably never experienced how a velvety soft and warm body purring next to you while you’ll curled up on the bathroom floor with the flu can provide an incredible amount of comfort.

They may never have known what a great feeling it is to be the only person who a proud fuzz-face let snuggle and hold them.

It’s likely they have never come home on a cold winter day and curled up in the sun with their furry friend and dozed together on the floor.

Perhaps they don’t know what it’s like to experience hours of entertainment with a simple piece of string and that four-legged ball of fluff. They probably wouldn’t have been brought to tears of laughter during those crazy playful moments.

They may not understand how an only child could see that big-eared, long-tailed, green-eyed “pet” as a friend and sibling who has shared all the big stuff – good, bad and indifferent – with them for the past 16 years.

I do think that they can understand what it feels like to lose someone close though.

They can sympathize with how odd and almost empty it feels to go through a daily routine with that someone missing from it.

It doesn’t matter that that someone stands less than a foot tall. It doesn’t matter that they’re a cat. It doesn’t matter because they’re family.

This is why I say goodbye and I love you to my furry brother, my friend, my cat, Basia.

We lost him yesterday to heart failure and blood clots after 16 great years together. My mom, who has been caring for him all this time while I went off and got educated and focused on my career, was with him in the last moments. I can only imagine how hard that must have been for her and though I’m sad I couldn’t be with him, I’m almost glad I didn’t see him go.

It will be weird to go home next month and not see him lounging in the sun and looking up at me with those lazy eyes, but I know we’re lucky to have had him in our lives for so long. I’m lucky I had such a great little friend.

You’ll be missed, but I hope there are lots of mice and critters for you to chase wherever you are!

20110912-083603.jpg

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry, Shannon.

  2. Thanks Susan. It’s always hard to say goodbye, but I’m happy we had him for so long!


Leave a Reply

Categories

