Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | September 22, 2011

The Triathlon Countdown Has Begun! (Ahhhh!)

Image Source

Oh, how time flies.

Last week, Nick and I were catching up with our evening phone call (a key component of the semi-long distance relationship) and he mentioned that we were just five weeks from our St. Pete triathlon. I laughed and say “No, we’re not, we still have like two months!”

Oh, but I was wrong. So very wrong.

He made me walk over to my wall calendar and count off the weeks until October 22, and I was literally speechless when I stopped counting at just 5 weeks. Who the heck stole three weeks from my friggin’ calendar?

I just kind of laughed and played the “that’s PLENTY of time!” card. Then the next morning I woke up AND FREAKED OUT. Not only have I let work take over a lot more of my time and energy, skimped on the number of workouts, and been eating… well but not particularly great, but I have not been ramping up the intensity of my workouts.

I have been… kind of lazy. (I hate being honest with myself sometimes.)

Image Source

So last weekend, Nick and I did a 3.5 mile run along Bayshore in Tampa – very scenic by the water despite the low-tide algae smell of poo – and holy cow… the humidity kicked my butt. Hard. Apparently I had forgotten that even though I can run on a treadmill at a decent clip, running outside is a whole other monster. And this all meant, that unless they’ve changed the way triathlons work, my outdoor run next month, which is also at the very end of my race, is going to kill me.

I’m not going to lie, I got home Sunday night and freaked out a bit. I don’t want to be that person in a race who you find keeled over before they get to the finish line. You, know the one that the other racers have to jump over as they run on by? I don’t want to be the last person limping across the finish line either.

My goal is to finish the race NOT LAST.

It would be nice if I could even maybe finish the race not feeling like I want to die. I would like to do things that weekend besides recover.

So, now that I have voiced my fears and I think even lost some sleep over it last week, I’ve gone full on into my brainstorming and planning mode.

So here are the facts:

  • I’ve been letting my busy schedule take over and I’m currently not anywhere close to being ready for my race.
  • I need to get off my butt and take this seriously.
  • I’ll worry about fine tuning my swimming technique later, I just need to make it through this race.
  • A cute triathlon outfit is not going to be enough to make me finish.
  • Five weeks is actually plenty of time to get in shape for me. In fact, I’ve done it before (post breakup though, which meant I was also highly motivated by stress then too).

Now all I need is a plan! Ah that’s the easy part. Less than five weeks to countdown…

What types of things have motivated you to kick-start a fitness regimen?

Responses

  1. Pull my name out of the hat for this year and sign up for next! 🙂

    No, I know you CAN DO IT!


Leave a Reply

Categories

