Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | September 26, 2011

Smelling Pretty & Eating Well

There is something wonderful about a nice smell.

Cookies fresh from the oven, homemade popcorn, roasted garlic, and lots of other cooking-food-related smells have a way of comforting me.

While things like lemongrass, spearmint, and flowers are more energizing.

I’ve always been addicted to good smells.

I’ve also been particularly concerned about making sure that I smell good. A scented lotion, gum and deodorant always have a place in the bag of stuff I almost always carry around with me.

As one of my aunts told me when I was young, “you’ll always want to smell nice, so you must always have a good perfume.”

Not exactly deep words, and she might have just been trying to nicely tell me that I stunk after playing outside all day ( I was like 11 years old), but I’ve been very careful to choose the right perfume and always have at least one staple scent at home ever since.

This summer, I’ve been relying mostly on the Victoria’s Secret scented body lotions, but I finally made the splurge on this new scent which I really love:

20110926-075729.jpg

Tierry Mugler’s Womanity in possible the coolest bottle I’ve ever seen. An added bonus is that this bottle is refillable!

The scent is kind of addictive. One sniff just isn’t enough. It starts off really sweet and then you get this flurry of woodsy smells like smoky sweet wood. You have to experience it for yourself!

I didn’t just smell good this weekend though, I ate some good food too…

20110926-075739.jpg

After an extensive outlet shopping trip with Nick on Saturday, we headed over to Greek Gourmet in Naples (right on Rt 41) and dove into some tasty delights. I ordered the hummus plate and pita and cucumbers. I only ate half and then boxed the rest up to take home (yay, leftovers!).

Later I whipped up my new favorite (and healthier) version of Mac ‘n Cheese with inspiration from a Eat, Live, Run recipe. I made it with a brown rice and millet pasta (instead of the potato-based gnocchi) and spinach (instead of basil) and added some garlic sauteed in a TBSP of EVOO and a TSP of garlic powder.

The creamy goat cheese  with the shrimp (also an addition of mine) were delicious and the garlic added a lot of flavor to the mild flavors of the cherry tomatoes and spinach.

I’ll be posting the complete recipe in the near future when I try to work some additional healthy twists to this recipe.

20110926-075805.jpg

Finally we finished off the day with this…

20110926-075813.jpg

It’s not soup, it’s “ice-cream”! Though it’s totally dairy-free, and in my personal opinion is way more flavorful than most ice-creams I’ve had. Here’s the breakdown

Banana-Pineapple “Ice-Cream” with Almond Butter

Serves 2

Inspired by this BodyRock.tv recipe

Ingredients:

2 Frozen Bananas

1/4 Frozen Pineapple Chunks

2 TBSP Almond Butter

2 TSP Vanilla Extract

1 Scoop Protein Powder (*optional)

Sprinkle of Cinnamon (*optional)

Directions: Put the frozen bananas and pineapple in a food processor or blender and add the almond butter, vanilla and (if you want) protein powder) and blend until smooth. Serve in small bowls and sprinkle with cinnamon.

______

This is one of those miraculous discoveries that will have you keeping some frozen fruit in the freezer for any of your sweet cravings. It is high in natural sugars (from the fruit), but comes with some good vitamins as well. I’m going to play with some other frozen fruits and possible add some ice in the future and see what else I get, but this is delicious and satisfying the way it is.

It was the perfect end food to sit down with and watch some Netflix’d Modern Family DVDs (season 2).

And as my day of “Active Rest” it was quite nice to let my body recover from a week of hard and new workouts. I might be able to laugh soon without my abs crying out in pain.

I’m going to go sniff my new perfume again now… (sniff) ahhhh, love it.

Are there particular scents that you just can’t live without?

Responses

  1. Some of my favorite smells from the kitchen include:
    -Garlic, onions and peppers in a bit of olive oil
    -Home made spaghetti sauce with LOTS of garlic and basil
    -Baby Back Ribs
    -Beef Tenderloin/Prime Rib Roast
    -Thanksgiving Turkey
    -Chocolate Chip Cookies Baking

    Although I don’t wear perfume, I do wear a body lotion – my favorite is Donn Karan’s Cashmere Mist.

  2. Oh, I’m totally with you on the Thanksgiving Turkey! I don’t eat it anymore, but there’s something about that smell… They should make a candle that smells like that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

