Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | January 23, 2012

Why You Push Through When You Want to Give Up

I enjoy a challenging workout.

There have been very few workouts that I bailed out on. Instead I chose to push on through the pain and exhaustion.

Well, the Bodyrock.tv workout aptly named “It Will Rain Sweat 1,000 Rep Workout” had me almost ready to throw in the sweaty towel.

Halfway through this workout, I was almost shaking with exhaustion and I was laying on my back out of breath wishing it would just be over. And it was only the HALFWAY point (around approximately 36 mins).

I got up and walked my living room debating in my head whether I should just adjust my notes and make this a 500 rep workout. Surely that wouldn’t be too bad? That was still a lot to have accomplished.

Then I looked at my little marks in my notebook that denote the rounds I completed and without another thought, I crouched down and started another 10 burpees. Without even considering the option of stopping, I completed 10 squat jumps after that, then 10 pushups and so on

I gave up thinking about it. Forgot considering the option to quit.

And I pushed through the second half of the 10 rounds with strong form in less time than it took me to complete the first half.

When I was done, I felt completely wiped out, but I wasn’t as tired as I’d thought I would be. Instead I was satisfied, my mind was at peace and I was… proud. Proud that I hadn’t stopped.

So here’s what all that story means.

You set goals for yourself.

You do your workouts and sometimes you spend half the time complaining in your head.

Sometimes you may even give up.

But I PROMISE, that you are stronger than you give yourself credit for. You are tougher than you can even imagine.

The only way you find out just how strong our tough is by pushing yourself. Pushing past the complaints and doubts and just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Maybe you’re wavering on some New Year’s Resolutions. Perhaps you’ve already thought to abandon those lofty goals you felt so strongly about just three weeks ago.

Don’t quit.

Keep going and you will surprise yourself by just how amazing you are and what you’re capable of.

If you think I’m crazy and just making this up, than I challenge you to STOP. Just stop thinking about how difficult it is. Stop telling yourself how you can’t do it and just do it.

The only thing standing between you and your goals is your own doubt.

If you don’t believe that this is possible, than try it for yourself

Next time you’re running or busting butt in an exercise class, or even at work, push yourself to the point where you can think of nothing but quitting. Then KEEEP GOING. By the time you finally do stop, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Then you’ll know that you are capable of much more than you give yourself credit for. And that is a truly empowering feeling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

