Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | May 22, 2012

Home Sweet Home

What makes a home?

Is it the memories that reside there? The stuff that fills the empty spaces? Comfortable corners to curl up on rainy days?

As someone who has moved… well honestly I feel like I’ve lost track, but I’m comfortably wedged in the double digits somewhere, and all the moving has taught me that home is everything you want and need it to be.

Quite simply, it’s where you go at the end of the day to unwind (furniture or not). It’s where you may entertain many guests on a regular basis or you may just entertain one or two particular people that bring you joy.

Every place I’ve lived has been a sort of home, whether I lived there alone or with four roommates and three cats, whether I had tons of furniture in a two story condo or none in a one-bedroom apartment. I’ve made them all my home.

Happily, however, there is something special about a place you can make your own. A place you can decorate and make memories in. I refer to this kind of home as a “Home Sweet Home.”

A “Home Sweet Home” is similar to the house I grew up in which I plastered the walls of with my drawings (sometimes, right on the actual walls much to my mom’s chagrin) and have memories of family dinners, parties and holidays in.

Now I’m working on making my own, however temporary or not (who really knows), and I’m finding that I like adding in the personal touches, colors, paintings and such that make it feel like home.

So I figured I’d share my “Home Sweet Home” with you as a work in progress.

It’s still a mostly blank canvas in the sense that I haven’t added anything to the walls or windows, but I at least I have some of those comfortable corners and major items that make it cozy.

It’s hard to believe that it has already been a month since I moved into my new apartment. My biggest improvement is my living room…

Yes, that is a real couch (thank you IKEA) complete with chaise lounge. I don’t have a lot of windows and natural light, but I’m trying to maximize what I do have. I even positioned the chaise lounge portion of my couch so that I can just lay there with the sun on my feet…

I can just grab a book from my bookcase and snuggle up. (Note the green blanket is the cat’s blanket and she actually stays on just that part!)

(You can also see my little hand-painted gnome, Gnorman, waving and looking out over the room)

The other big addition is my TV and Blu-ray player. I can’t tell you how nice it is to really be able to see the things I’m watching (I’ve been watching TV on my MacBook Pro screen for a year)!

Helloooooo on-screen photo of  Cooking Channel (how I adore thee).

My “dining room” is more of a what I would call a den. I don’t eat in it, but rather have my desk and other miscellaneous stuff in there (note the art work still sitting on the floor).

You can see that my workout equipment is a big part of the decor at this point, but I’m okay with that (it’s who I am).

I have a galley kitchen, but it’s plenty roomy enough for me and one other. Any more than that though and I’m sure accidents would start happening. I have never had trouble filling my kitchen with stuff, that’s for sure…

I don’t have a ton of counter space, but it’s enough to do what I’ve got to do. I may also decide to get a tall narrow table for the wall to the right of the stove area if I can find one.

One bonus of this kitchen is the sink. It’s HUGE! It’s just one giant, deep basin, but I love it because I can clean vegetables, wash tons of dishes and fit a large cutting board or pan in there without even having to tilt it. Just lovely.

My bedroom is a bit… bland right now seeing as I don’t even have colorful linens at the moment. I’m still deciding on the color scheme…

There is no walk in closet, but there is a double closet.

Which makes a perfect home for all my shoes….

And what about my roomie? Yeah, she’s pretty much digging it too.

I still have lots of things I want to add in way of decor, so I spend a bit of time on weekends going through my Pinterest feeds looking for ideas.

I would love to find some time to actually do some art myself for the big empty spaces on my bedroom and living room walls, but I find it very hard to commit to any one look at the moment.

The site 20 x 200 is also a frequent stop when I have time to peruse. It’s affordable and just quirky enough that I feel like it could be uniquely me.

As much as I want to go meander second-hand shops, I have yet to find the time, so who knows what will happen there. Perhaps this summer I can find time and motivation to go used chair shopping.

What things do you think make a home feel like home?

Leave a Reply

Categories

