Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 5, 2012

Getting Back to Basics & Monday Workouts

Image source Bodyrock.tv

It’s always tough getting back into the routine when you’ve been thrown off your schedule for a while and this was definitely the case for me this morning.

I’m trying to get back into the habit of waking up at 5a.m. to workout and while I have been doing that, this morning I was just NOT feeling it. After bouncing out of bed and getting dressed at 5:15 a.m. I went and sat on the couch for a second, just to rest my eyes for a second… and woke up over an hour later totally discombobulated.

Needless to say I did not workout, but rather had to rush to get ready.

Tonight, however, I refused to be deterred and came home with a mission of getting my workout on. I had selected one of the Bodyrock workouts titled the “Look Better Naked Workout.”

What better way to get the week started?

I needed to make some modifications to this advanced workout and it kicked my butt, however, it gave me just the pick-me-up I needed.

Here is what the HIIT workout ended up breaking down as (my arms are like jelly as I type this though)…

(Modified) Look Better Naked Workout from Bodyrock.tv

(12 minutes of 12 rounds of 10-50 second intervals)

Repeat 3 times:

  1. 3 Point Surfer Jumps
  2. Push-Up & Cross Kick
  3. Reverse Push-Up & Side Knee Crunch
  4. Plank Spider Knee & Press Up

AB BONUS!

(3 rounds of 10-50 second intervals)

  1. Oblique Plank Drop & Knee to Elbow Touch (Left Side)
  2. Oblique Plank Drop & Knee to Elbow Touch (Right Side)
  3. Overhead Abs, Press & Twist with Sandbag

Hopefully I’ll get back into things now that I have a pretty quiet week. I am going to try and get up early for my workout tomorrow though, since the best way to get back into my routine is to just keep trying.

I just think of Finding Nemo’sDori singing “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.”

Image source ct.com

It’s my motivational motto.

How do you get back to your routine?

Leave a Reply

Categories

