Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 13, 2012

Can’t Believe It’s Not Ice-Cream & Today’s Workout

I’m not actually a huge fan of ice cream (though I do enjoy the occasional well made cone), but sometimes a refreshing, fruity little bowlful is a great end to the day.

Only I don’t opt for the dairy filled ice cream from the tub, I have my own homemade version.

You may not believe me, but this version of “ice cream” is in many ways as satisfying as the dairy version. No, it’s not what you’d call sugar-free, but it is all natural sugars from the fruit that makes it up (nothing additional added).

Take a bite of this creamy goodness and forget for a moment that you’re not being really, really bad.

Can’t Believe It’s Not Ice-Cream

(Adapted from Bodyrock.tv recipe)

Makes two large servings

Ingredients:

2 frozen bananas (Ripe, but not brown)

1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks

1-2 TBS nut butter of your choice (I used peanut butter)

1/2 TSP vanilla extract

Cinnamon to taste

*Almond or coconut milk as needed (Soy milk also works)

Directions: Combine the frozen bananas and pineapple in a food processor and blend until smooth. (TIP: Take your frozen bananas out of the freezer 15-20 minutes before you’re going to use them to let them soften a little.) Add a bit of almond/coconut milk to if the mixture is balling and not becoming smooth. Once you have a smooth creamy texture, add the peanut butter, vanilla and cinnamon and blend until combined and smooth.

Serve with a sprinkle of cinnamon over the top.

Optional: I take a scoop of my protein powder and usually add that to the mix when I add the nut butter and vanilla.

Today’s Fitness Journal

This morning I was inspired to step out my door and venture down to Bayshore Blvd, just a couple blocks from my apartment, for my first run in a long time.

20120612-205920.jpg

The weather was perfect – warm, but not humid with a light breeze.

I left at about 6 a.m. so the sun was just coming up over the Tampa skyline. By the time I was on my return run, the sun had risen and the skyline was a brilliant burnt orange.

20120612-205929.jpg

I did just over 3 miles in 30 minutes with about a five minute cool down walk at the end.

It was a wonderful way to start the day. So nice in fact, I think I might just do it again later this week.

How do you like to get your day started?

Leave a Reply

Categories

