Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 26, 2012

Debby is kind of a B*

Welcome Florida summer!

This morning, I hopped into my beloved Toyota Yaris, drove out of my apartment complex, and headed for Howard Ave on my way to work as usual.

My parking lot had been flooded since Friday evening, so I wasn’t surprised to see lots of tree debris and sand washed all over the roads where puddles had receded just hours before.

Once I got to Howard I looked left and then right. The usual traffic coming from Bayshore Blvd, however, was missing.

Well, this is why…

Image source http://www.wtps.com

Hello man standing in 3 feet of water where Bayshore Boulevard was once visible. That is a STREET he is standing in the middle of (without his waders might I ad – not safe!).

Yes, Tropical Storm Debby has been a bit of a beast (or other five letter word starting with a “b”) and really kicked Tampa in the butt (or equally low regions).

Here is a different view of the drowned bay-side boulevard…

Image source http://www.wtps.com

(You can see many people embraced boats as the only safe form of transportation on this road this morning.)

Meanwhile, driving over a bridge that crossed the Bay this morning was a bit of a nerve-wracking experience and the drive home was worse with waves crashing against and over the see walls, going as far as hitting the cars on the bridge.

Ever feel like you’re on a sinking ship, literally? I felt like I was driving on one.

Luckily I’m on the second floor so flooding of my apartment is not an immediate threat. Rather flooding of the low-lying streets that I need to use to get to my apartment are somewhat of a question right now.

Especially with this forecast…

Image source http://www.wtsp.com

Keep your fingers crossed that Debby doesn’t decide to whip back around for seconds. Apparently we have a wet day or two still in the forecast.

I don’t think I’ll be running this week. Not unless I plan to add a freestyle swim to it at least.

I don’t even want to think about what the smell will be like…

Parking lot wake-boarding anyone? Anyone?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

