Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | June 29, 2012

Independence Day Inspiration

Fourth of July is less than a week away and for the first time in… well as long as I can remember, I’m NOT going home to my homeland for this most festive of New England holidays.

At first I was sad and saw it as a real loss, especially considering all the reasons I usually look forward to this time of year and trip. However, seeing as the only reason I can’t go this year is because of my new job, which has me back in the vacation “earning” period, I decided not to be sad for long.

Instead, I’m excited because one of my MA friends is coming down to see me this weekend through the Fourth!

So forget being bummed, I’m going to make this coming weekend a festive celebration! By festive of course, I mean a few  decorations in my apartment and probably patriotically themed food of some kind (I still have to work next week after all – can’t take on a full on party blast). I’m thinking BBQ and some pool time will also find it’s way in there.

I turned to some of my favorite online resources for inspiration on decor and recipes, my Blog Reader and Pinterest.

Here is what I found…

Hostess with the Mostess had a plethora of Independence Day related decorations and recipes including:

The Nautical Inspired Party

I love this twine wrapped pillar candle with the red, white and blue tag.

The Vintage American Party

Different layers of sugar-dense liquids (heaviest poured first) create a science experiment festive thirst-quencher in a mason jar.

The Fun Patriotic Party

The classic spread including fresh cut watermelon and red, white and blue tortilla chips!

4th of July Flag Ice Cream Cake

Layered raspberry sorbet and vanilla ice cream with a blueberry sauce… yum.

I almost didn’t need to look further with that range of ideas, but I did peruse Pinterest as well:

Great breakfast recipe I loved from Be Different Act Normal

Geekology also shared this pretty amazingly elaborate holiday makeup (which I had to include just because it was fun)

 

I am going to the Hyde Park Fresh Market this Sunday as well (pending any bad weather) so I will be on the lookout for things there, but the above gave me some good goals and ideas.

Do you have any simple and fun decor and holiday recipes ideas?

Leave a Reply

Categories

