Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | September 20, 2012

When Your World Spins…

Two weeks ago, I found myself in a perplexing situation. My world went literally spinning out of my control.

I’ve been dizzy before, but those instances have mostly been caused by head injuries (thanks to be an accident-prone, sport-playing kid) or illnesses (sometimes provoked by alcohol, I admit it).

(Image Source)

This was an entirely different thing. The room wasn’t spinning, I was spinning. I felt tilted and couldn’t event sit up straight.

There are few things that scare me like head-related problems. Mostly because I don’t understand them and am terrified that it’s a serious brain-related problem.

Needless to say I freaked out to the point that I gave myself a panic attack. Luckily, I was able to trouble shoot my symptoms with my mom the following morning to get some kind of idea of what I was dealing with since I don’t have a doctor in town yet.

The consensus was vertigo (and I’m not talk about the movie). Of course, WebMD has a slightly unhelpful breakdown and explanation, but my mom explained it in Chinese Medicine as an excess of energy caused by some kind of blockage.

Another visit of the spins a few days later helped confirm that I had a lot of muscular tension in my neck and back that was not only blocking energy, but it was building up so that I felt like I had a vice locked around my head and neck.

Thankfully, I had the weekend to do everything I could to relax. It allowed me to get back to work the next week, but only two weeks later have I started to feel normal again.

Unfortunately, I had to give up my workouts with the exception of some light yoga, and am slightly weary of pickup up my HIIT and running, but I’m hoping to be able to pick it up in a couple of weeks.

The entire experience has caused me to really slow down my pace, which given it being a very busy time at work, means I have to take it a bit easier outside of the office.

I’m tracking down a doctor and hopefully once I meet with him/her I can get some more answers on preventing this from reoccurring.

Have you ever experienced vertigo?

Responses

  1. […] After my recent experience with vertigo, what was once a energized schedule, became a fear-filled RUT. I tried some new DVDs, changed the time of day I worked out a few times, tried to get excited about designing my own workouts… but it didn’t workout. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

