Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | October 30, 2012

October Must Have Box & Fall Festivals

It’s like the editors at Popsugar have ears in my apartment and new exactly what I wanted in this month’s Must Have Box, which arrived on my doorstep this past Friday.

20121029-135817.jpg

Not knowing what you’re going to get each month is part of the thrill, but the greatest part is still what you do get.

Must Have Box editors must have known I finished last month’s book, The Perks of Being a Wall Flower and been listening in on my inner hopes of reading J.K. Rowling’s new adult book The Casual Vacancy.

20121029-135832.jpg

They must also have known that I was finally getting around to trying August’s Pop Physique workout DVD and got me grip socks perfect for yoga and barre workouts.

And how could they have known I wanted some more sparkly nail polish? Well, let’s be honest, who doesn’t want more sparkly nail polish. (I quickly worked up a mani-pedi with the new glittery pink polish.)

The hair products, designer gummy bears, scented candle and Pirate’s Booty (cheese and popcorn were made for each other) were just wonderful cherries on an already delicious box of goodies.

20121029-135826.jpg

My weekend plans quickly reorganized around starting my new book, but I still got out of the house to enjoy some of the seasonal happenings in my neighborhood.

Hyde Park had the Howard Alan Art Festival that turned out to be far more extensive than I could have imagined. In fact, Nick and I walked around from booth to booth examining the art, neither one of us had the money to buy, in awe that so many artists existed in the area.

20121029-135854.jpg

We also wandered down the side alleys in Hyde Park Village and found the coolest soap shop! (Yes, I said soap shop and cool in the same sentence.) It’s called Milagros and it’s located in Snow Circle (that back alley/side street off the main road in the Village).

Now, I’m not normally the type to buy handmade soaps for myself, but these were way to fun to pass up. They took handmade soaps to new levels with delicious smells and amazing designs.

20121029-135847.jpg

They make these huge blocks and you can purchase a “slice” for about $8. One slice, however, can easily be cut into two normal-sized soap bars. That is what I did with my Honey & Cream bar and it’s sweet, wholesome scent is not wafting through my entire bathroom.

Apparently you can also design your own soaps and with different scent combinations if you’re feeling especially crafty. Then whole place smells amazing though and is definitely worth a stop if you’re in Hyde Park Village.

20121029-135839.jpg

Though I didn’t walk away from the festival with any traditional art pieces, I was happy to consider my soap purchase as art. Plus, I made a stop at the Pumpkin Patch in the Village center to get a big ‘ol pumpkin to carve this week.

20121029-135901.jpg

Not sure what it will be, but I’ll post pics when it’s done. No stencils for this lady!

Have you visited any Fall Festivals this year yet?

Leave a Reply

Categories

