Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | March 18, 2013

St Patrick’s Day Weekend Recap

I worked part of this St. Patrick’s weekend, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t celebrate. On the contrary, I did a little bit of celebrating my Irish roots each day….

Friday night, I whipped up an Irish-inspired dinner…

20130318-212458.jpg

Welsh Rarebit with Guinness and Sauteed Vegetables.

20130318-212506.jpg

Let me tell you, the Guinness really does make a difference and there is nothing like a zippy cheese-beer sauce over veggies and French bread to wrap up a busy day and start a weekend.

I got the sauce recipe on the Food Network.

Saturday, was a different story. After a two-hour workout, I headed off to Curtis Hixon Waterfront Park in downtown Tampa for the Mayor’s River O’Green Fest, which one of my clients was a sponsor at. The event turned out to be pretty cool with an amazing river-dying, music and a variety of food and vendors.

20130318-212513.jpg

I’ve never seen the Hillsborough River look so great – glowing green – which is an improvement over the norm.

After working seven hours for the event, Nick and I laid pretty low Saturday night.

Sunday, didn’t include pints of green beer, but it did include a beautiful morning and brunch…

20130318-212538.jpg

Chavez at Home is located right down the street, so we walked over and I ordered the Eggs Sardou which included a poached egg over an English muffin, artichoke heart and spinach with hollandaise sauce. For future reference, it is a really good combination.

After brunch Nick and I opted to walk around the neighborhood and work off of a few of the calories we just packed in. It made me realize how beautiful my neighborhood was though, and how much I need to get out more to explore it.

20130318-212600.jpg

This beautiful park is on my way to work every morning and I never stopped to notice how beautiful it was!

I was so inspired by the fountain, I even did a little imitation…

20130318-212607.jpg

It was no where as good as the statues though. Oh well.

Instead of the bars, we decided it had been too long since we saw a movie and went to check out Oz The Great and Powerful.

Verdict: It was a great prequel and a good movie overall, but it wasn’t amazing. I won’t say anything more or ruin anything, but I do think it’s worth seeing.

It was a relaxing day otherwise, to recover from Saturday, but given everything I squeezed into the weekend… I feel like I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day to its fullest.

Minus the many beers.

Hope you had a great St. Patrick’s weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

