Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | August 1, 2013

August Reflections and Setting New Goals

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 12.54.42 PM

Somehow it is already August. (Seriously, how did that happen?)

I’m not going to complain though seeing as August is the middle of summer (usually the hottest here in Florida), is usually when I start my holiday shopping (yes, I’m one of those people), and it’s my birthday month! This year is a BIG birthday too – I officially become old in some people’s definition.

Birthday_Month

August is also a planning month at work, where we’re helping clients put together 2014 plans and when we’re refocusing on the balance of the year – what we’ve achieved, what we can do better, what we can plus up.

I think it’s this mindset that has me refocusing and planning the balance of my own 2013 too. It’s a good time to take a look at what I’ve accomplished and what lies ahead, as well as inventory my previous year (since my last birthday) to see how I’ve changed. I’m not a New Year’s Resolution maker, but I do set goals for myself by birthdays.

Looking at everything as a whole, it’s been a good year, both since my last birthday and since 2013 began, with some challenges, but overall forward movement. One major thing that has kind of plateaued, however, is my fitness goals…

To be honest, I haven’t made much time for them. I’ve kept up with workouts, but since rejoining the gym last fall and getting energized for a few months, I slipped back into a handful of irregular workouts a week.

A few months ago I made an effort to reinvigorate my passion for fitness by trying and then joining a local CrossFit box. I loved the workouts, but like with all classes, scheduling them into my life regularly has been tough. Even my weekly personal training sessions were hard to maintain any kind of consistency with.

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 12.49.44 PM

Finally, last month something clicked in my head. I finally “got” why I was having trouble. My lifestyle just doesn’t allow for strict schedules.

I still need to plan, don’t get me wrong, but relying on other peoples’ schedules doesn’t work well for me, because every week I have a slightly different schedule, sometimes I’m traveling, sometimes I need to work late.

Refocus_Fitness

So how am I going to refocus on fitness?

I’m NOT going to wait until by birthday to try and make a change. Instead I’m going back to when I more easily juggled fluctuating schedules and fitness and I’m going to work to adopt those habits again.

I’m going to get back to mapping and tracking.

Two things that sound so simple an innocent, but WOW they are key for me.

  • Mapping is planning out my workouts and activities ahead of time. I can’t rely on someone else’s class schedules, I need to create my own each week to fit my needs. Sometimes it will be a CrossFit or spinning class, other times it will be a run, yoga at home or a HIIT workout.
  • Tracking is another biggie, because competing gives me motivation, but not competing against others, competing against myself. Tracking what I do is how I hold myself accountable and it gives me a benchmark to judge growth. I sometimes track what I eat, but since I’m eating pretty well now, I’ll focus on tracking my activities and workouts.

Something else I used to do, was right my tips and experiences down more – aka blogging. I have struggled with consistency on my blog for some time, but typically, the more focused I am on my health and fitness, the better I do with it. Weird, huh?

Finally, I have been saying I’m going to get my personal training certification for literally, years. Now is the time, so I’m going to crack down and get it done. Finding time to study should be interesting, but I think it will help keep me focused.

Writing out goals and intentions always makes them more serious, doesn’t it?

So hopefully stating my goals for the my next year here will serve as an additional reminder and a little bit more motivation. I’ll try to be better about sharing my adventures too. 🙂

Do you make birthday resolutions? Or perhaps do your take time to reflect on your calendar year in the summer?

Responses

  1. […] not a big fan of resolutions, as I’ve said before, but I do believe in goals. I set them throughout the year, but always see more support for them […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

