Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | August 23, 2013

A cool treat for a hot night…

So these pictures aren’t the best I’ve ever taken, but this frozen concoction was too tasty not to share…

It will come as no surprise to anyone that it’s been quite steamy down here in Tampa, Florida. Not only do we get 90 degree days, but the humidity hangs around 90% most of the day! Yes, it is like walking out your door into a hot shower even in the mornings.

Though we get some fantastic afternoon storms…

20130823-182009.jpg

(Can you see the water spout in the distance?)

… that can result in some pretty sights…

20130823-182026.jpg

(Insert favorite “Double rainbow” joke here)

Even the nights can still be pretty steamy and leave you feeling tired and lazy. All I want to do when I get home most nights is curl up with the little fuzzball and watch some Friends.

The other night, Nick and I were both tired and hot and craving some ice cream. Since that’s not something we usually have on hand he asked if I’d whip up some of the banana “ice cream” that I sometimes make. I didn’t have an pineapple, which is my usually partner fruit of choice for the bananas, so I had to get a little creative with what I had on hand.

Luckily, I found a bag of frozen mango I had bought for smoothies in the freezer and decided, why not?

Well my friends, it turned out pretty darn amazing! And easy? Oh my, it is stupid easy. Just toss the ingredients in the food processor or blender….

20130823-182042.jpg

20130823-182048.jpg

…and use almond milk to thin until it reaches the desired texture.

I wanted a silky, creamy texture to my frozen treat, so I used about a half cup of almond milk.

I hadn’t even planned to eat that much of this, but I ended up eating right out of the processor bowl! I gave Nick a healthy helping and topped with some cinnamon which he enjoyed watching a football game. I could tell by the “mmmmm” sounds (between shouts at the TV) that he enjoyed it too.

20130823-182133.jpg

Banana Mango Almond Butter “Ice Cream”

INGREDIENTS:

2 frozen bananas

1 handful of frozen mango chunks

2 tbs almond butter

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

1/2-2/3 cup of almond milk

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS:

Combine the frozen bananas and mango in the food processor or blender along with the almond butter, cinnamon and 1/2 cup almond milk (to start). Blend until smooth adding splashes of almond milk as needed.

Once the mixture is smooth, add thevanilla extract and pinch of salt and blend together again.

20130823-182125.jpg

Dish up and sprinkle cinnamon or the sweet crunchy topping of your choice right before serving. (It melts fast, so serve immediately.)

Enjoy!

Let me know if you tried this or another version of this fake ice cream recipe!

Leave a Reply

Categories

