Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | December 22, 2013

Keeping the Christmas Magic

I have to start out by sharing a new holiday favorite before I get into some of the more traditional decor…

XMasCookie_Tea

I bought this Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea by Celestial Seasonings off the recommendation of a YouTuber – missglamorazzi – who mentioned it in one of her recent “favorites” videos, and OH MY GOSH, I am so glad I did. I found this at Whole Foods when we did our shopping yesterday and I’ve had three or four cups of this already! It’s not sweet, but miraculously tastes somewhat like sugar cookies (minus the sickening amounts of sugar).

It’s pure holiday magic. I plan to wipe out Whole Food’s stock this week.

Anyways….

Over the past few years, I’ve proven (to my myself mostly) that even if you don’t have a lot of time, space or money, you can still decorate your home and be festive this time of year. I’ve gone from having a full Christmas trees, to no tree (gasp), to a little potted tree that continues to remind visitors of Charlie Brown’s Christmas Tree in recovery.

This year, I was lucky enough to have my mom (who along with my stepdad just relocated to the Tampa Bay area – yyyyaaayyy!!) come over and help me decorate. Since she’s not decorating their temporary apartment since they’re moving into their new house in a few weeks, so I got to use some of her decorations for my place!

XMasDecor

I had very minimal Christmas decorations due to the my lack of desire to spend a ton of money on decorations in the past few years (and moving loads of times). However, Nick and I (and the fuzzies) are hosting Christmas Day this year for the first time and I was set on making it very warm and homey. That is why I took up my mom’s offer to use her garland with lights and bows…

Garland_XMasDecor(It adds a little something extra, don’t you think?)

Little crystal strand/garland, which I added to a fresh Rosemary tree that I picked up from Whole Foods…

RosemaryTree_XMasDecor

And some pretty Victorian ornaments for my little tree…

XMasTree_collage

I picked up some window decals at Target in the dollar section (score!) and slapped them up on the living room window…

FrostyWindow_XMasDecor(We’ll see how long the animals let those stay up since they usually stick their face right where little Frosty’s bottom is.)

The window lights and crystal garlands, I had, and added my usual little snowflake ornaments to them.

SnowflakeOrn_XMasDecor

Since we don’t really have a ton of fireplaces in Florida, I had to get creative and hang our stockings around the TV…

Stockings_XMasDecor

The whole place looks so awesome at night and it feels really cozy. I am not going to want to take them all down.

JazResting_XmasDecor

And can we just take a moment to notice that Jaz was sitting still through my little photoshoot? She was just relaxing in the sunshine, looking downright chill.

She did look a tad bit bored about half way through…

Jaz_Yawning_XMasDecor

Of course, I think she was chasing the cat down the hall a few minutes after this, but I’ll take what I can get!

I still have a few ideas of how to decorate for Christmas Day a bit more with some DIY projects over the next week, but we’ll see if I have time to get to those.

How did you decorate for the holidays?

Leave a Reply

Categories

