Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | December 23, 2013

Weekend in pictures: Dog Beach & DIY Projects

Despite it being the weekend before Christmas, my weekend was pretty laid back, but surprisingly productive.

In addition to some of the basic errands (grocery shopping and the weekly Target run), Nick and I made a trip to Petsmart to do some pet holiday shopping and finally get Jasmine her a new dog tag to replace the “Adopt Me” tag she’s been sporting since before we adopted her.

20131222-211707.jpg

(Isn’t it cute?)

I also spared Nick the pain and spent some good quality time with an old friend – Michael’s Craft Store.

20131222-211718.jpg

I completely forgot how much I loved that place! Plus they were having 70% off Christmas items sales.

In an effort to try a new protein powder that I’m sampling for a present for someone else, I also made a new smoothie recipe!

20131222-211727.jpg

I call it Peachy-Green! It includes: frozen peaches, bananas,  plain greek yogurt, almond milk, spinach, peanut butter powder, ground ginger and hemp protein powder. Pretty delicious…

Then Nick and I packed Jaz up and headed to the Davis Island Dog Beach…

DavisIslandDogBeach

She loves playing with the other dogs, but is still not completely sure what to do with water. We tried to get her to fetch a tennis ball…

GettingBallatBeach_collage

But even after reaching the ball, she would frequently abandon her efforts when a wave came along. Oh well. We’ll get there.

Slip_Thru_fingers

When we got home, I jumped into some serious DIY projects, including…

PuppyChow

Yes, that is Puppy Chow (or Muddy Buddies depending who you ask). I’ll be sharing a recipe for this particular concoction soon though – they came out AWESOME.

And it may come as no surprise, but I am still working on my holiday cards (FYI – If you haven’t gotten one from me yet, I am working on it!). Though I have some beautiful cards to mail, however, I wanted to dry another DIY project for some handmade holiday cards…

DIY_XMassCards

I’m putting together a blog post on that to share as well! They’re quick and super easy so that you could use them for pre or post holiday cards.

Nick and I also baked almost a literal ton of cookies, but we got so tired, we didn’t get to decorating them. That will be a project for another night.

20131222-211744.jpg

What did you do over the weekend?

Leave a Reply

Categories

