Posted by: Shannon @ A Dash of Sparkle | January 8, 2014

More ‘adult’ goals for a new year

HappyNewYear_Pic

Happy New Year!

The year 2013 treated me pretty well, no real complaints to speak of, but I’m always excited about a fresh new year. Plus, by January 2nd, my bank account always needs a breather and my stomach is usually crying out for a break from rich, sugary foods as well (unless they’re these little goodies, which are AMAZING).

I’m not a big fan of resolutions, as I’ve said before, but I do believe in goals. I set them throughout the year, but always see more support for them after the New Year. By that I mean, other people are frequently making resolutions that sometimes align with my goals and activities, which make it easier to stick with them.

This year, my goals are slightly different than in the past, as I feel they are more “adult” than those of previous years. I’m not just talking about health or fitness (which have turned into ongoing goals regardless).

My more adult goals are more focused on big projects in my life.

Goal #1: Get my new blog – A Dash of Sparkle – really running with quality posts, photos AND videos (yes, I am looking to break into the scary world of video).

I have been working on the concept – which is basically tips, lessons and the great things that I’ve personally found/learned to help balance a busy life with grace and a bit of sparkle (fun and ease) – for months. The design is still a bit in limbo, but I’ll be working to get the right photography and such to really make it my own.

I have even started a Facebook page for the blog so that people can easily stay updated on when new posts go up.

It’s a project I had been trying to figure out for probably the latter half of 2013, but it’s something I’m really excited about. This blog will remain as my personal blog, to chronicle my personal adventures and updates, but more helpful, content-focused posts will be appearing on the new blog – think recipes, lessons, tips, product reviews, DIYs and advice-type posts.

Goal #2: Get my finances and plans in order/set so that I can look to buy a house in 2015. This one is kind of HUGE for me. If you asked me a few years ago if I wanted to buy a house, I would have responded “HECK NO!” All that commitment to one area and a fear of being trapped with a mortgage just scared the daylights out of me.  Ah, but the times, they do change.

In a combination of contributing factors, I’ve finally reached a point where I’m just really over moving every year and want a place of my own. My parents are now in Florida, and I’m finally getting out from the debt that college and city-living put me in during my 20s.

Now, I’m not delusional in thinking I can buy a house in the area I currently live anytime soon. My neighborhood is super expensive and located in a flood-zone, so I’ll have to figure out what and where I can afford to buy. FIRST, however, I need to figure out my finances, set my budget and figure out how much I can afford, how long I’ll need to save up the down payment, and what a bank can approve me for.

Thankfully, my mom has offered to coach me through the technical areas, but the saving of the money and everything is all on me. So it’s going to be a year to figure out what I can do for the next year.

I do have some secondary hopes for 2014, but they mostly tie-into my bigger goals in some way.

Overall, I think it will be a great year!

What goals or hopes have you identified for 2014?

Leave a Reply

Categories

